Dear Teacher – a substitute’s rant

Standard

Dear Teacher:

Not telling me your parking spot number in advance makes it difficult.

Leaving me your parking spot number on your desk AFTER I’ve found street parking 3 blocks away isn’t helpful.

Dear Teacher:

It is unacceptable to NOT leave me enough work for your students.

Dear Teacher:

The assignment you left for students is full of spelling and/or grammar errors. You teach English. It’s called spell check and proofreading. Learn how to do it.

Dear Teacher:

Please tell your educational assistant that it is unprofessional to interrupt me when I’m discussing appropriate behaviour with a student.

Also, remind them that I, too, have a teaching degree and classroom experience.

Dear Teacher:

When I sub for you I’m supposed to get your exact schedule. Please don’t “loan me out to other teachers” during your preps. (Though perhaps this is a “Dear Principal” rant and for that I apologise)

Dear Teacher:

If you have outside duty at recess, it would be nice to let your substitute know. Especially when it’s cold. Or raining.

About ninian-poetree

I live in a sitcom. No seriously. I share a century home with an Englishman, my part-time sons, a step-daughter who visits every other year or so, a cat named Sophie and the latest addition, Hobart the (stuffed) monkey. I'm a mum, a writer, a teacher and an MUFC fanatic.

One response »

Leave a Reply

