Stitch ‘n Bitch

Standard
Stitch ‘n Bitch

So about a year ago, I read a book called “The Friday Night Knitting Club”. It’s by Kate Jacobs and it follows the story of single mom Georgia Walker as she runs her yarn shop and tries to raise her teen daughter. The Friday Night Knitting ClubShe has a group of women that gather every Friday evening in the shop to knit and chat. Over the course of the book the women come to be a family.

I really enjoyed the book. We were trying to start a book club online and my friend Lisa read it too, but no one else in the online group did, or if they did, they didn’t talk about it! Anyway, Lisa and I decided to start our own “Friday Night Knitting Club” and we started meeting at her house every Friday evening to chat and knit. We’ve been carrying on in this fashion for over a year now, sometimes not knitting and some Fridays find us too tired or the weather too bad to get together, but most Friday nights can find me on her sofa knitting away.

Erin's Georgia AfghanMy first project was inspired by the book, the pattern is included but is also available on it’s own online. It’s called “The Georgia Afghan” after the main character in the book. I finished it last year in early March, but didn’t get around to taking a picture and uploading it. So here is my finished “Georgia Afghan”.

The pattern is really very simple. I used sayelle yarn – some that I had kicking around the house forever and hadn’t made into anything! – and I knitted it on 4.75 mm needles. Close up of patternThe pattern starts with a basic garter stitch for the border and then the rest of the afghan is worked in knit 2 and purl 3.

The pattern:

Cast on 90 stitches.
Knit 10 rows.

Then follow the pattern like so:
Rows 1–10: Knit 5 (for border), knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 5 (for border).

Rows 11–20: Knit 5 (for border), purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, purl 3, knit 2, knit 5 (for border).

Repeat the pattern until the desired length is reached.

Knit 10 rows, and then cast off.

I did 20 rows in each colour and my afghan is longer than it is wide. I think, if memory serves, I cast on 180 stitches because 90 just seemed too small! I’ve still got lots of each colour and I’ll be starting a new project soon.

About ninian-poetree

I live in a sitcom. No seriously. I share a century home with an Englishman, my part-time sons, a step-daughter who visits every other year or so, a cat named Sophie and the latest addition, Hobart the (stuffed) monkey. I'm a mum, a writer, a teacher and an MUFC fanatic.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

