Perennial

Standard

Perennial

I am a delicate flower
with moist and dewy petals.
Others admire the beauty,
picking a blossom
for their lapel
to wither and fade.
But you,
you tenderly removed the soil,
exposed each tendril of my root,
and planted me in your garden,
so that I might bloom forever.

© Erin Hilder

About ninian-poetree

I live in a sitcom. No seriously. I share a century home with an Englishman, my part-time sons, a step-daughter who visits every other year or so, a cat named Sophie and the latest addition, Hobart the (stuffed) monkey. I'm a mum, a writer, a teacher and an MUFC fanatic.

Leave a Reply

