Batman Lives At My House (1998)

Standard

Batman Lives At My House

Tonka trucks and sticky smiles
books and costumes stacked in piles
sound effects by Tom who’s four
handprints on my kitchen door.

No yearnings for a marble hall
while kicking Dougie’s soccer ball
And ‘loaves of bread and wine in jugs’
were traded off for Ian’s hugs.

I don’t buy trips, or fancy clothes
My money’s gone; to where, who knows?
No diamonds, rubies, gems so fine
I spend it on these boys of mine.

I pass out hugs, and kiss skinned knees
examine bugs, and help climb trees.
I know that I am needed best
when helping Batman to get dressed.

Their eyes are bright, their souls so trusting
I don’t care that my house needs dusting.
Their hearts are full; their minds are fed
by reading when it’s time for bed.

The years will fly before I know
I see it now how fast they grow.
Their memories of childhood
Will be “we played, and it was good”.

© Erin Hilder

About ninian-poetree

I live in a sitcom. No seriously. I share a century home with an Englishman and a cat named Sophie. Not living with us are my three sons and a step-daughter who visits every other year or so. I'm a mum, a writer, a teacher and an MUFC fanatic.

Leave a Reply

