First day

Standard

and here I sit, in my bathrobe, watching Classic English League Football on Setanta, instead of getting showered and dressed and going off to a job.  Once again.  Five term positions in three years of teaching, but only once have I had the joy of starting a year in a school.  I miss it.  I love teaching.  I love everything about it – the sense of community, the interesting kids, the assignments and assessments, meeting and planning with colleagues, and, let’s face it, the regular income!

I’ve applied for many, many postings over the summer, but with the unemployed teacher rate as high as it is, I’ve only had 3 interviews and all of them were rather clear that they had someone particular in mind – resulting in me being just cannon fodder.  And the thing of it is, I think I’m pretty darned good at this!  I love being in the school, getting to know my students, getting involved in the life of a school.

Okay, so no self-pity.  It’s hard to stay optimistic, but I have to.  I have to grin and enjoy every day of subbing – which I don’t like doing – so that I can show somebody, anybody, that I was meant to do this.  The hardest thing is that this is entirely out of my control.  I’m doing all the right things, applying for jobs, getting my resume out there, letting people know that I’m available.  I’ve worked at all levels, elementary, middle years and high school, so you can’t say I’m not flexible.  And still, here I sit on the first day of school, wistful and sad…

About ninian-poetree

I live in a sitcom. No seriously. I share a century home with an Englishman, my part-time sons, a step-daughter who visits every other year or so, a cat named Sophie and the latest addition, Hobart the (stuffed) monkey. I'm a mum, a writer, a teacher and an MUFC fanatic.

Leave a Reply

