catching up, yet again

Standard

I’m what’s known as a “bad blogger.” I haven’t even touched this page since June 1 of 2006 and so much has happened to me since then! Well, quick catch up.

June, I was subbing and applying like crazy for jobs. I had four interviews in June all of which went amazing and all of which replied that I was beat out by the job by one other person – always a bridesmaid never a bride huh? I had my plans for the summer alluded to in May and I was crazy and nervous and excited.

July 4th bright and early, I slipped out of reality and onto a flight over the Atlantic. I landed in the wee hours of the 5th of July and gathered my suitcase and stepped through a glass door in Manchester Airport and into the rest of my life.

He was there.

“He” is the man I have looked for my whole life. He is the first person I’ve ever met who totally gets me. He knows even in text, when I am agitated. He knows when to push for more information and when to back off and let me come around to things in my own time, he just totally knows me. And, on July 5, 2006 I stepped off his computer screen and into his arms.

I had the time of my life. We spent a glorious two weeks in East Yorkshire. I got to stand on the banks of the Humber River, walk on the ancient walls in York, taste the salty air at the seaside in Bridlington. I never wanted to leave. The days passed slowly and yet in no time at all my two weeks were up and it was July 19th and I was heading back home.

Have you ever cried so much that tears would no longer come? That’s how that day was for me. I started tearing up on the train to Manchester, I was sobbing in the airport. Well, we both were. I must have soaked his shirt with my tears.

It was the hardest thing on earth to walk down to the gate for my plane and I know the only reason I did it were the three sons waiting for me back home. If I had no children here, I’d have stayed with him in England and looked for a job there.

We made some wonderful memories and realised that the connection we’d had for nearly a year was more than just words on a screen, it is real and tangible and forever.

On the morning of July 8th he asked me to marry him and I said yes! Of course we have some logistics to get through before that can happen, but I am the happiest girl in the world…most of the time…when I’m not missing him like crazy….

Now Playing: “She” – Elvis Costello from the Notting Hill Soundtrack

About ninian-poetree

I live in a sitcom. No seriously. I share a century home with an Englishman and a cat named Sophie. Not living with us are my three sons and a step-daughter who visits every other year or so. I'm a mum, a writer, a teacher and an MUFC fanatic.

Leave a Reply

