the joys of teaching

Standard

I love middle school!

Yesterday I was tired, I felt like a failure as a teacher…well, backing up a bit….

I had the flu this week, I’m still getting over it and coughing like nobody’s business, but I need income so I’ve had to sub anyway and I took a job in a grade five class for the afternoon on Wednesday.

I couldn’t believe how rude some of the kids were. Rude and disrespectful to my face and so I had to call in the principal which always makes me feel…like a failure. So I came home yesterday defeated, tired, still very sick, and hating subbing.

Today I was in a grade seven class, in a school I’d subbed in at the beginning of May, and with kids that I’d taught Math and Science to then.

I feel as if I’m back in the saddle, and it occurred to me….I love middle school. There is something about kids in those years from grades six to eight that is just…amazing to work with.

Now, before you get on my case, I do realise that “middle school” is officially grades five to eight, but most of the “middle schools” here are grades six to eight and those are the kids I really like to work with.

The material they are working with has more substance to it, the discussions you can get into are better and the kids themselves are not jaded like a lot of kids are in high school. I had a blast today with this class of grade sevens and I’d go back to that school in a heart beat – I’d love a job there.

My ideal job would be grade six because they are just beginning the ride on the hormone roller coaster, they are starting to see that there is more out there than just themselves and there are very cool projects a teacher can undertake with grade sixes.

In any event I’m feeling happy and back in control …and nothing beats that feeling =D

currently playing: Ordinary Day by Great Big Sea

About ninian-poetree

I live in a sitcom. No seriously. I share a century home with an Englishman, my part-time sons, a step-daughter who visits every other year or so, a cat named Sophie and the latest addition, Hobart the (stuffed) monkey. I'm a mum, a writer, a teacher and an MUFC fanatic.

Leave a Reply

