Cereal Roulette

Standard

     I hate grocery shopping at the best of times. The crowds, the noise, the stress, the whining- and it’s worse when I have to take the kids with me! But seriously, folks, I was skipping through the grocery store the other day with my four-year-old, dreading the moment when I would take the fatal turn into the no man’s land known as “The Cereal Aisle”. Millions of bright colorful boxes with amusing cartoon characters SCREAMING at my child “BUY ME BUY ME BUY ME”.

     Now would someone PLEASE tell me when the cereal commercials started becoming like Saturday morning cartoons? My son can not read yet but he knows the name of every pirate, bird and letter-spewing computer on those evil boxes. So we stood there, playing cereal roulette, while I tried to explain to the automaton with the sugar coated glaze that the fruit flavored sugar bombs without a picture on the cover taste exactly like the ones with the stripy bird, but at a fraction of the cost. No matter, he clung to the bright red box as a drowning man to a life preserver. It looked as if I would either be taking that cereal or leaving him behind in the grocery store; an option that was starting to gain some appeal.

     After what seemed an eternity in cereal purgatory, I managed to get him to compromise. We put back the box with the bird and got the generic fruit flavored O’s. And to appease his sugar lust, I snagged a couple of boxes of the cereal with the famous hockey player on the box. Thank goodness for cereal sales!

About ninian-poetree

I live in a sitcom. No seriously. I share a century home with an Englishman, my part-time sons, a step-daughter who visits every other year or so, a cat named Sophie and the latest addition, Hobart the (stuffed) monkey. I'm a mum, a writer, a teacher and an MUFC fanatic.

Leave a Reply

