Shhh Mommy’s Sick!

Standard

     For those of you that don’t know, I’ve spent the past week sicker than I’ve been in a long time.

     What was worrisome for my household, was my unprecedented two full day’s absence from the computer, something I don’t think they’ve seen me do since I chose a life of working from home. More worrisome was that I didn’t immediately snap back to my 18-hour days of work, house, kids and meals.

     Today, as I ease back into things and take stock of the past few months, I’m reasonably sure I could have predicted this. Rising at dawn to wake sleepy children, providing them clothes and sustenance for school, ushering them out the door with delicious lunches on the days I don’t drive them, rushing them into the car on the days that we do drive. Working around my four-year-old. (“What was that sound??” “I don’t want to tell you.”) Planning nutritious and easily made meals that three very picky boys (who were once non-picky babies) will eat. Racing out the door to various events (hockey and swimming in the winter, baseball and swimming in the spring). Settling kids in bed and hitting the computer to work again until ideas run out or I do.

     It is interesting how the dynamic of a house changes when Mommy is sick. My eight-year-old would return from school, hug me, tell me I felt warm, and ask me when I last took Tylenol for my fever. My four-year-old made me countless get well cards and pictures. And, scariest of all, my six-year-old has behaved himself incredibly well for an entire week.

     There is a sense of fear that sets in when Mommy is this sick. This doesn’t happen when Daddy is sick, unless he is the stay at home variety of Daddy. When Daddy is sick everyone keeps away, letting him rest until he can go back to work. But when Mommy is sick, a hush settles over the house. Little boys become little men (someone tell me please what do little girls do?).

     But, I’m happy to say, after a lot of rest, fluids and even a trip to the doctor, I’m back at it and though not yet good as new, I’m under repair. I should be able to catch up on email by sometime in late summer!

About ninian-poetree

I live in a sitcom. No seriously. I share a century home with an Englishman and a cat named Sophie. Not living with us are my three sons and a step-daughter who visits every other year or so. I'm a mum, a writer, a teacher and an MUFC fanatic.

Leave a Reply

