Hands up!

Standard

     Kids do say and do the darndest things don’t they? Recently we remembered an incident with my four-year-old, which happened back when he was only two.

     All parents know that when we have children we each have our own peculiar rules and regulations. A big one for me was that my boys not play with toy guns. I guess like many parents, I worried about what play with toy guns could lead to. Living as we do, guns – real and toy – are not a part of the lives of any of our family, so I had no fears my children would come into contact with them. Family and friends respected the rule, putting any toy guns away when we would come and visit. What we tried to do was encourage a lot of imaginative play and the boys really responded to this. They often build elaborate things out of blocks and the stories they come up with are wonderful. Sometimes they even perform a puppet show with their creations. The thing that I found amazing in all of this is, even with the no gun rule, each boy hit a stage where suddenly every toy was a gun or a blaster or a weapon of some sort. They would build them out of blocks, draw them on paper, hold toys at just the right angle and brandish them like weapons. I resigned myself to the fact that this was part of having boys, though I still didn’t allow toy guns in the house.

     Talk about your words coming back to haunt you, though. One day we were all in the car heading out shopping. The boys often brought small toys with them in the car and they were playing quietly.

     Suddenly, my youngest pipes up from the back seat “Hands up! Nobody move! I’ve got a gun and I’m not allowed to use it!”

About ninian-poetree

I live in a sitcom. No seriously. I share a century home with an Englishman and a cat named Sophie. Not living with us are my three sons and a step-daughter who visits every other year or so. I'm a mum, a writer, a teacher and an MUFC fanatic.

Leave a Reply

